We’ve released Bolt 1.4.1 1.4.4 as a maintenance release to Bolt 1.4.0, which we released last week. This release fixes a few minor bugs and quirks, but no security-fixes. If you've missed our major release last week, read the details here. See below for the details on what's new in this minor update.

As you might’ve heard: Bolt 1.4 will be the last feature-release of Bolt 1.x, as we’re now shifting our attention towards Bolt 2.0. At the end of march 2014 we’ll release Bolt 2.0. The most significant features of that release will be a redesign of the Backend (both in visuals as well as in functionality) and the marketplace to share your Themes and Extensions. Want to help? You can! More on this can be found here.

Update: Due to a bug that was introduced with caching in 1.4.1, we've updated the build to 1.4.2. Thanks to Harish of Softaculous for bringing this to our attention. Update 2: And another bug was squashed, bringing us to 1.4.3. Update 3: And another minor issue fixed. Version 1.4.4!

Highlights of this release:

  • Added: Thumbnails are no longer enlarged by default. If you're trying to create a thumbnail that's larger than the original. You can override this by setting allow_upscale: true in the section for thumbnails in your config.yml .
  • Fixed: When editing a record with relations, the previously selected related items weren't shown properly.
  • Fixed: a bug in the paths in the ImportWXR extension.
  • Added: Bolt now sends "Cache-Control"-headers for (reverse) proxies and caches. Update: actually works now!
  • Fixed: Application::initLocale() requires locale files on intl_get_error_code() not existing. Fixed by adding ' symfony/locale' to our composer.json

To upgrade an existing install, or to setup a new one, just follow the instructions for installation or for updating. When you do an upgrade, you will not overwrite your modified settings with the upgrade. You should still make a backup before doing an upgrade, though. Get the latest .tgz or .zip, or browse the folder with the distributions.

Updating should be just as simple as always, but behind the screens some extra things are done, because the Roles need to be initialized for existing users. If you're updating from any version older than 1.4.0, you will be promoted to ‘root’ the first time you log on. If you have multiple users, you should check and verify that your users are still able to do what they should be able to do.

comments powered by Disqus